The Power of Here

photo from Microsoft Office Image

This came to me as an insight: many of us have heard Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now and it has revolutionized our way of thinking and experiencing time from our constricting past memories and future anxieties into a serene, empowered Now; and long ago there was a Ram Dass whose wisdom quenched the thirst of spiritual seekers of his generation in his powerful book Be Here Now. Both authors have touched the same core of our desire to reach that elusive peace within us, and their words have brought us hopes and insights. Now, they are doing me that favor, in the very space here in my heart.

The power of Here became much more palpable through the insights presented by a friend and co-creator Ishilta. He has been engaged in exploring sacred geography as an expansion of his professional training into its spiritual implications. We have learned a great deal from him, especially on how space and place differ from each other, and how our human presence influences and transforms the void of any unidentified, raw space into a place of identity and potentiality. He has taught us the principles on how to anchor and ground ourselves and find our landmarks in this sacred exploration of the world, both within and without.

Love is Here.

With those lessons in mind, I feel that there is no space other than here where I can exactly find myself. Even if there is the desire to go somewhere, in the possibility that I want to create for myself, there is always a place to begin. The journey never commences until we realize that we are here, in the midst of our own presence. There would become an illusion until we recognize here, which brings me to a that powerful insight – there must be a power that does not only reside in the time of Love, which is Now, but also in the space of Love which is Here. Time and space are features of the relative world, our reality of interplaying opposites. Going beyond the edge of our usual understanding of time and space is to leap into the true time when Love is ultimately eternal. And hence, to leap into the true space where Love is ultimately endless. We might have the idea of when is Now, but have we ever found where is Here?

Among the basic lessons Ishilta taught was the concept of Axis Mundi. An Axis Mundi is a symbolic connection of Heaven and Earth, represented by many religious implements and mythologies. It goes in many forms like towers, temples and trees.  It is the center that defines an unknown space into a sacred place, a point where the Heaven and Earth meet and co-create each other. This might sound very symbolic, but we could see this in many of its literal aspects. We could easily understand why, since time immemorial, humans have this burning desire to go up to the mountains, build incredible architectural wonders, seek refuge with gigantic trees and explore the astronomical space.

photo from Microsoft Office Image

But more than any material and physical representations of Axis Mundi, it teaches us where we can find Here. The Axis Mundi marks where one is, which makes any space a realized Here and finds oneself alive and connected to everyone and everything. Thus, the power of Here is found nowhere else than in the ultimate Axis Mundi: ourselves. Our very existence as human beings is the confluence of Heaven and Earth, of consciousness and reality, of physical and nonphysical. We are the Here that wields the power of creation and co-creation with all there is. Here, within us, is the sacred geography of infinite proportions.

I am Here, the Axis Mundi, as I have found myself that I am Here. I am the center that brings life to all inanimate and meaningless. Here, I am the vision that sees every force of life coming into being. I am the listener of their music, songs and rhythms. I am the hands that hold everything, and the feet that stand upon earth. I am Here as I have become aware, as I see the beauty that my eyes meet, hear the voices of loved ones and friends, touch their hands and warmly hug them. Here I become present when I speak and someone listens. I become the presence and the people who listen become my co-presence. In my presence Here I see my true self, and they see theirs.

Sometimes it is easy to be nowhere, to be lost in the speed of this world. But we can choose to see ourselves now here. We don’t just have a popular word play here, but an empowering insight to ponder and practice in our lives. Now is the time. Here is the space. I am the Now, and I am the Here. Both grounds the reality of Love, and that truth is in me, in all of us. Where in the world is not a destination to reach because wherever we go, Love is there – Love is Here.

6 thoughts on “The Power of Here

  1. For we are the living temples… “The first peace, which is most important, is that which comes within the souls of men when they realize their relationship, their oneness, with the universe and all its Powers, and when they realize that at the center of the universe dwells Wakan-Tanka, and that this center is really everywhere, it is within each of us. This is the real Peace, and the others are but reflections of this. The second peace is that which is made between two individuals, and the third is that which is made between two nations. But above all you should understand that there can never be peace between nations until there is first known that true peace which, as I have often said, is within the souls of men.” ~ Native American thank you Rem

Leave a comment